1727 votes

It sounds like a lot, but it wasn’t quite enough to get me elected. I and the rest of the Cardiff and Cyncoed Lib Dem team worked really hard. It’s really gutting that I’m not able to help and represent the community I grew up in. I’d be lying if I said I wasn’t a bit upset.

There were a lot of factors that led to the result, a swing to the Conservatives nationally, campaigning locally by the Tories, a snap general election being called in the middle of the short campaign. The Tory candidate who got in fudged her address details – I was honest and admitted to currently living out of the area. It probably didn’t help me in the end, but it’s far from the only factor.

I’m really pleased my colleagues Wendy and Bablin did get elected, it was a disappointing night for the Lib Dems. Despite topping the poll in total votes cast across Cardiff Central we lost and failed to win a number of target seats. This is despite a lot of hard work, hard campaigning and absolute passion for Cardiff displayed by our candidates and campaign team. It does give us hope though – in a month’s time we’ll be going to the polls again – hopefully, to elect the amazing Eluned Parrott as MP for Cardiff Central.

I really want to thank everyone who supported me, the volunteers, friends, family and my amazing fiance.  I’m taking a short break from politics to recoup my emotions and get some well-deserved sleep in (election days and nights are seriously long!) and – importantly – plan our wedding this summer.

I’m glad I stood up for what I believed in, and hope to do so again in the future.